The Spectators

World Premiere

Driven by a distinct vision for reimagining classical ballet vocabulary in an ultra-post-modern framework, Tanowitz’s dances elegantly layer full-bodied dancing with a clear visual design. The Spectators continues Tanowitz’s investigation of dance steps as objects, and will explore decorative movements alongside practical and structural movements. Consisting of a series of interrelated solos, duets, and ensemble pieces, The Spectators is set to music by Annie Gosfield played live by The FLUX Quartet and includes an original score by Dan Siegler.

Performers: Andrew Champlin, Maggie Cloud, Dylan Crossman, Pierre Guilbault, Sarah Haarmann, Melissa Toogood

Original score: Dan Siegler

Music: Annie Gosfield, played live by The FLUX Quartet

Lighting Design: Davison Scandrett

Costumes: Renee Kurz

May 16 at 6:30 Come Early Conversation with Composer Dan Siegler, moderated by William Petroni
May 16 Stay Late Discussion with David Vaughan
May 17 Stay Late with The FLUX Quartet (Free) Reserve tickets here

The Spectators is commissioned by New York Live Arts and made possible, in part, by the National Endowment for the Arts. Additional support is given by contributors to the Dance Theater Workshop Commissioning Fund at New York Live Arts. The Spectators was created during a residency provided by The Joyce Theater Foundation, New York City, with major support from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The Spectators is made possible in part with public funds from the Manhattan Community Arts Fund, supported by the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council and administered by Lower Manhattan Cultural Council. The Spectators also receives support from New Music USA's 2013 Live Music For Dance Program and the New York State Council on the Arts.