Bill T. Jones & New York Live Arts


Chelsea Factory, 547 W 26th Street New York, NY 10001
May 20, 2024
Honoring: Derrick Adams, Cynthia Erivo and Dr. Anthony W. Marx
Join the host committee now, general tickets on sale soon

The annual celebration features a night full of performances, honorees and Live Arts artist spotlights, a delicious vegetarian dinner by one-of-a-kind BITE Catering, and an auction featuring exclusive art and experiences. This year’s gala focuses on Our Future, directing attention to the critical moment we face globally and nationally, what “NOW’” means for our future, and our role as artists amidst it all.

6:00 pm Cocktails
7:00 pm Dinner Program
Dance Party to follow!

Festive Attire. Dress to celebrate!

Critically acclaimed, multidisciplinary artist, Derrick Adams whose multifaceted work – encompassing paintings, sculptures, collages, performances, videos, and public projects – addresses the richness of the Black experience. Adams’ work expands and celebrates dialogue around Black culture through expressions of normalcy and perseverance.

Cynthia Erivo is a Grammy® Emmy® and Tony® Award-winning actress, singer and producer, as well as an Academy Award®, Golden Globe®, and SAG nominee. Erivo burst onto West End and Broadway stages in THE COLOR PURPLE and has since taken the world by storm. She is set to star as Elphaba opposite Ariana Grande’s Glinda in Universal’s highly anticipated film adaptation of the hit musical WICKED from director Jon M. Chu. The decorated stage and film star is a beacon of inspiration for what great artists can achieve. She is a singular voice of a generation whose performances bring diverse audiences together around the globe.

Academic leader and President of the New York Public Library (NYPL), Dr. Anthony W. Marx. Marx’s leadership legacy continuously prioritizes expanding resource and education access across socioeconomic backgrounds. From his efforts in the anti-apartheid movement to the multifaceted community and educational programming at the NYPL, he has established himself as a proponent and actualizer of purposeful change.

Darnell L. Moore* 

Yashua Simmons

Sarah Arison*

Aimee Meredith Cox *

Holland Andrews

Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Company

Jasmine Hearn

Vinson Fraley Jr.

DJ April Hunt

*= New York Live Arts Board Member

“Where thinking and movement meet the future! This is what I said of New York Live Arts when we created the organization in 2011. NOW, our collective ‘Future’ feels much more fragile. With all that is happening in the world, do we possess the courage to confront the forces of oppression, and what role will artists play in ensuring the protection of free and open societies? Live Arts’ 2023-2024 season confronts the current critical moment, in which the changing social, political, and cultural tides call to deepen our vision as a conduit for engagement through art. We honor Cynthia Erivo, Derrick Adams, and Dr. Anthony W. Marx for their inspirational work of creating space and dialogue – true partners in transcending barriers. “
Bill T. Jones, Founder and Artistic Director.

Sarah Arison* – Jody and John Arnhold – Reginald Dwayne Betts – Bloomberg Philanthropies – Derek Brown* & Deborah Hellman – Aimee Meredith Cox* – Kim Cullen* – Claire Danes and Hugh Dancy – Terence Dougherty* & Pierre Duleyrie – David A. Dechman and Michele Mecure – Adam Flatto – LaToya Ruby Frazier* – Eleanor Friedman* – Linda Genereux and Timur Galen – Agnes Gund – Miguel Gutierrez – Helen Haje* – Ruth and Stephen Hendel* – Michi & Charles Jigarjian – Charla Jones* – Bill T. Jones* & Bjorn Amelan* – Colleen Keegan* – Richard Levy* & Lorraine Gallard – Simone Leigh – Robert Longo – Alan D.* and Barbara Marks – John McWhorter – Darnell L. Moore* and Yashua Simmons – Amy Newman* and Bud Shulman – Lisa Pevaroff-Cohn – Randy Polumbo* – Ellen M. Poss* – Matthew Putman* – Slobodan Randjelović* and Jon Stryker – Katharine Rayner – Thomas Rom and Adrian Danchig Waring – Andrea Rosen -Jane Bovingdon Semel* – Ruby Shang* – Cindy Sherman – Catharine R. Stimpson*

List in formation as of April 15, 2024